h1

Astoria, May update

May 14, 2008

While construction of the main site is crawling along at a geological pace, work on the Astoria segments is going swimmingly. As in butter, the Danish idiom goes; swimming in butter? Yeah, that fits the bill just fine 😉
I’m still puttting down uncommitting sketches, but I am making great progress in the concept department. The various pieces are coming into their own in ways that carry the corpus of the book to new, welll, places if not heights 😉
For the “Great Old Ones” piece, I will be working in information graphics, as described by Edward Tufte in his books “The Visual Display of Quantitative Information” and “Envisioning Information”. The clarity of his theories juxtaposed with the multivocal theme of “G.O.O.” will work pretty well, or at least confuse the reader enough to make him/her think. That is an ulterior goal, of course.
For “Our Lady of Centuries”, I am lookiing at dada and art concréte, and a director I worked with last year introduced me to some incredibly dense colllage/scribble/paranoic delusive artwork that apparently were being left for strangers to find in the Copenhagen commuter trains, some years back (in photocopy, as I understand). The sprawling, occasional symmetry of these pieces have inspired me to work from strict grids in composing the spreads.
I spend a lot of time on the train each day, and I work through sketchbooks like a powerdrill. That works quite well with some of the more intuitive installemnts of the book, like “Brainfeeeders” [If anybody has a better title, I’m open to suggestions. The working title was filled in, rather than actuallly selected, when I needed a headline on the late website]. I am currently reworking and expanding upon the original piece, and it is essentially growing in all directions at the same time. As usual with that sort of piece, the hardest thing will be weeding out the weaker saplings.
The problem with working in the sketchbook is that I don’t have any time to scan from it right now. My sparse freetime is spent wrapping up the site :/

Leave a Reply

